

Office of **Representative Hannah E. Kane** Commonwealth of Massachusetts

For Immediate Release

Contact: Jessica Beliveau, 617-722-2430, <u>Jessica.Beliveau@mahouse.gov</u>

February 26, 2018

Rep. Kane, Fellow Members of Women's Caucus Support Legislators for Gender Equality Movement

BOSTON – On Wednesday, February 15, State Representative Hannah Kane, R-Shrewsbury, joined her fellow members of the Massachusetts Caucus of Women Legislators in wearing purple to stand in support of the Legislators for Gender Equality Movement.

Created and organized by Zoe Laboy Alvarado, Senator at Large for Puerto Rico, the movement is to encourage legislators to take a stand for gender equality in all facets of life. Currently, there are 50 women serving in the Massachusetts legislature – representing 25% of elected seats. In contrast, only 14 women are serving in the Puerto Rico legislature that has a total of 78 seats.

According to the 2017 World Economic Forum's Gender Gap Report, gender parity is shifting into reverse since the organization started measuring it. The study measures relative gaps between women and men in health, education, economy and politics. The United States ranked 49, moving down four spots compared to the previous year.

Additionally, women around the world and throughout the United States struggle to earn wages that are equal to their male counterparts and secure C-suite and high management positions.

Other states and territories joining Massachusetts and Puerto Rico in the Legislators for Gender Equality movement include: Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Connecticut, Delware, District of Columbia, Florida, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, North Dakota, Vermont, Wyoming and the Virgin Islands.



Back row L-R: Rep. Carole Fiola, Rep. Hannah Kane, Rep. Sarah Peake, Rep. Cory Atkins, Rep. Keiko Orrall, Rep. Lori Ehrlich, Rep. RoseLee Vincent and Rep. Natalie Higgins

Front row L-R: Senator Joan Lovely, Rep. Jen Benson, Senator Cindy Friedman, Senator Anne Gobi, Rep. Ruth Balser, Rep. Carolyn Dykema and Rep. Christine Barber

###